The Zoar Valley Trail
Explore Two Centures of History Along the Tuscarawas RiverThe Camp Tuscazoar Foundation has assumed operations of the historic Zoar Valley Trail. This scenic 20-mile trail provides hikers with a variety of historical sites and changes in terrain from rolling hills to level paths. The trail is anchored at the southern end by the village of Schoenbrunn in New Philadelphia and on the north by Fort Laurens in Bolivar. The trail passes Zoar, with an overnight stop at Camp Tuscazoar.
View the Zoar Valley Trail Map.
Visit our Zoar Valley Trail Guide.
View the latest improvements to the Zoar Valley Trail.
Order Zoar Valley Trail patches.
The RouteYou may start your hike from either end. However, it is generally thought better to start at Schoenbrunn, covering the hard surface and hilly part of the trail in the first day. Camp Tuscazoar is the halfway point on the trail and provides both lodges and primitive camping. Several camp sites are only a short walk from the trail and may be reserved by contacting the camp ranger. Please notify the ranger several weeks in advance to guarantee a site. The last portion of the trail travels along an abandoned railroad bed and the Ohio-Erie Canal towpath, with a short stretch on hard surface from one to the other.
A Trail Rich in Ohio HistoryTrumpet in the Land, Ohio's first outdoor drama, sweeps you back in history to witness the founding of Schoenbrunn.
The CemeteryAt the corner of routes 306 and 312 sits an old cemetery. Local folklore claims that a warlock lies buried here and his is the only grave encircled by a low stone wall. According to legend, his head was cut off and placed at his feet; when the head moves back up to the top of his body, he will rise from the grave. National Register of Historic Places.
Nestled between the historic Village of Zoar and the Tuscarawas River lies an 82 acre wetland owned by the Earth Action Partnership. Their goal is to interpret the wetland as an Arboretum by planting, identifying and maintaining a large variety of trees, plants and flowers for public education and enjoyment. They offer tree trimming, planting, and identification workshops. A picnic shelter sits on the foundation of the original 1830's Zoar Brewery. The shelter and patio offers a spectacular view of the wetland.
The old Route 82 Bridge at Zoar was erected in 1883 by the Wrought Iron Bridge Company of Canton, which was later absorbed by the Pennsylvania-based American Bridge Company. It is a three-span Pratt through-truss with separate spans of 86 feet and an overall length of 265 feet. This bridge was faithfully restored in 2004 for use on the Zoar Valley Trail as a pedestrian bridge. Photo 9/2007 rj. Pontiac's War began to be released. According to Col. Bouquet's orderly book, on October 17, 1764 "two Delaware chiefs (Custaloga and Beaver) . . . delivered 18 white prisoners and 83 small sticks, expressing the number of other prisoners which they had in their possession, and promised to bring in as soon as possible." Col. Bouquet camped here for one week, from Monday, October 15 through Monday, October 22nd. Lachlan McIntosh built the fort during the winter of 1778. With the withdrawal of General McIntosh and the bulk of his troops, the fort was then garrisoned by 176 men and 5 women under the command of Colonel John Gibson. Located on the grounds are the Tomb of the Unknown Patriot and a museum.
Related site: Friends of Fort Laurens
A patch is available for those who complete the Zoar Valley Trail.
For additional information, or to make arrangements to hike the trail, call or write:
Camp Tuscazoar Ranger
Phone: (330) 859-2288
To reserve a campsite, call or write to:
Camp Tuscazoar Foundation, Inc.
P.O. Box 308
Zoarville, OH 44656-0308
Phone: (330) 859-2288